Jump to content

Recommended Posts



In the words of the ancient echo, of which our ancestors sang as they sat by the lakes of the lands of Hurmu, smiling at life and centring their eyes on peace and tranquillity, we affirm our willingness to save our children and their children for generations to come from the scourges of war and instead bring them a future of light, hope, and better living.


We hold that all children of Ash and Elm are each other equal and are each of the greatest value immeasurable, and that they all are endowed with indisputable freedoms and rights in accordance with our Brida and the ways of living of our people.


As such we believe in the Brida, the philosophy our people, which we will practise in harmony and solidarity with all nature and her inhabitants, with all peoples and nations, and with all lands and lakes.


And to these ends we embrace the laws of the land and declare our constitution for Hurmu:




1. Form

Hurmu is a free, sovereign and secular State. All entities and measures of the State must yield and conform to these principles.




1. Head of State

The Queen, or if male, King, hereinafter the Monarch, is head of state.


2. Requirements

Only a person who has been a Senator of Hurmu for no less five Shirerithian weeks may ascend the throne or be included in the order of succession.


3. Order of Succession

The Monarch has the right to designate her own successors through an order of succession. An order of succession must be countersigned by the Chairman of the Senate to become valid. The new monarch ascends the throne upon the death, abdication or demise of the previous monarch. Should there be no order of succession upon the death, abdication or demise of the monarch, the Senate will elect a monarch.


4. Regency

Should the monarch be prevented from exercising her duties, through illness, foreign travel or age, the next in line to the succession shall be made temporary regent. Should there be no-one next in line, the Presidium of the Senate will act as regent.


5. Demise

Has there been regency for more than six Shirerithian months, the monarch shall have been deemed to have abdicated.


6. Titles

The monarch has the power to decree the titles of herself. She may not confer styles or titles to other persons.


7. Elections for Monarch

When this Constitution enters force, the Senate shall in session elect the first monarch of Hurmu under this constitution.




1. Legislative powers

The legislative powers of the State are vested in the Senate.


2. Rules of procedure

The Senate decides its own rules of procedure.


2. Membership

The Senate elects its own members, the Chairman of the Senate and the other members of the Presidium.


3. Presidium

The Chairman, or in his stead one of his deputies, preside over the Senate. Together the Chairman and his deputies form the Presidium of the Senate.


4. Committee on Foreign Affairs and Defence

There is in the Senate a Committee for foreign affairs and defence, consisting of the Chairman of the Senate (who will also chair the committee) and two senators appointed to the Committee by the Governments of Stormark and the Grand Commonwealth. All treaties need to be ratified, and all laws regarding foreign affairs and defence need to be signed into force by both the Senate and the Committee.


5. Advocates

If a senator should be absent for a while, she may appoint an advocate to represent her during her absence. This advocate would have the powers of a senator. If a Senator is unable to designate an advocate due to travel, illness, age or other limitations, the Chairman may designate an advocate for that senator.




1. Office

The Chairman leads the Government. He answers to the Senate alone.


2. Powers

The Chairman has the power to conduct foreign affairs, appoint ambassadors and envoys, negotiate treaties and represent the State abroad. The executive powers of the State are vested in the Chairman of the Senate and in his government. He shall represent Hurmu in the Majlis-i-Satrapan.


3. Absence

If the Chairman is absent, his deputies will lead the Government and conduct the affairs of the State.


4. Emergencies and War

In times of great emergency or war, the Chairman may temporarily have the right to decree laws, as long as his decrees do not contradict the Constitution or the laws of the State. The Senate remains the true source of all laws and may veto the Chairman’s decrees.




1. Powers

The Constitutional Court of Hurmu decides issues involving this Constitution. In particular, the Court has jurisdiction over disputes between State entities concerning their respective rights and duties under this Constitution and against the constitutionality of a law or measure of or by the State.


2. Members

The Court shall consist of at least three members who are appointed by the Senate. No current senator or advocate may be a member of the Court or take part in the Court’s deliberations.


3. Procedure

The Court decides its own rules of procedure.


4. Foreign courts

Until such time that the Senate can appoint justices, the Senate may designate a court of justice of a foreign jurisdiction to serve as the Constitutional Court.


5. Judicial powers

Other judicial powers are vested in the Senate.




1. Alteration

This Constitution may be altered by the Senate, as long as the principles of the Brida are conformed, and the governments of the Grand Commonwealth and Stormark assent to the alteration.


2. The Preamble

The Preamble to this Constitution forms part of the Constitution.



Hurmu will always live on.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...