The High Realm of Stormark
Sign in to follow this  
Thorvald Bjorklund

Background

So, as I am new to this, I wonder if anyone could impart some general facts or tid-bits about Vinland? That is culture, climate, history, things like that. It would be very helpful to start thinking about ideas.

Thorvald Bjorklund,

I will come up with some information for you about Vinland shortly.

The pleasure is all mine. :)

vinlandqt6.png

Vinland is covered by huge forests and is also known for its pristine beaches and rich fishing grounds. Several large bays distinctly shape its coast, and the capital of Vinland is situated at the largest of those bays. Vinland's climate, flora, and fauna are similar to that of Massachusetts.

The capital and seat of the jarl of Vinland is the city of Straumsfjordur. Vinland has 5,1 million inhabitants of which about one third lives in its capital. The rest of the population lives in smaller towns and villages. The population is about 80% Norse and 20% Native Vinlandish (Indians). Both groups appreciate one another and have adopted many of each other's customs.

Vinland was colonized by Vikings from a lost land known as Valtia but became independent after Valtia's destruction. It was ruled by a Council of Chieftains, both Norse and Native Vinlandish, until they voluntarily submitted to High King Harald about seven years ago.

Vinland has hundreds of dialects which are mixes of Old Norse and local Native Vinlandish tribal languages.

High Queen Sigrid, the Lady Wife Mortal of High King Harald, was born and raised in Vinland and is the daughter of the wealthy and powerful Royal Chieftain Magnus Gunnarson and the Valkyrie Geiravör.

Thorvald Bjorklund,

If you have anymore questions about Vinland, please don't hesitate to ask. :)

Lady Astrid,

This is a most excellent presentation! I commend you most strongly for this summary, I feel as though I could be transported to Vinland right now and feel at home. I thank you once again.