The High Realm of Stormark
Sign in to follow this  
Lady Gudrun

"Stupid" Camilla Sidelined By Royal Aides

Charles and Camilla did their best impression of Darby and Joan (or should that be Fred and Gladys) yesterday when they appeared in almost matching outfits for a service in Scotland.

The couple are once again North of the Border, spending time at their Scottish retreat of Birkhall.

The royal couple travelled to the small Perthshire village of Alyth where they joined representatives from the armed forces and the church for a moving ceremony and unveiling of a cairn in remembrance of the last survivor of World War I, Alfred Anderson. Scotland's oldest man until his death at 109 in November 2005, Alfred saw service with the historic Scottish regiment the Black Watch.

On arriving at the event, the Duchess told onlookers: "It's really great to be here, it's my first time in Alyth and it's very nice. I am very sorry I never met Mr Anderson but I have heard a lot about him."

The Prince, who was decked out in full Highland dress in Black Watch tartan, spoke about Mr Anderson, who served alongside the Queen Mother's older brother, Captain Fergus Bowes-Lyon, at the Battle of Loos in 1915.

The Prince also recalled his own meeting with the war veteran, saying: "It has been an enormous pleasure to be here with you particularly as I have such happy and special memories of Alfred Anderson, having been lucky enough to meet him on two occasions. It was a great opportunity to talk to him about his experience and his time with my late great uncle Captain Fergus Bowes-Lyon who was killed in the Battle of Loos. I feel very privileged to have known someone who was such a special person."

"Having this opportunity to join you all and pay our respects to a remarkable citizen of Alyth and the Black Watch regiment I really wanted to give a special tribute to the Alfred Anderson Memorial Committee for their amazing efforts."